News:

For some, the heat of summer nears its end. . . And for others, the blooms of spring appear.

Main Menu

[RECIPE] TW's Redwall Kitchens

Started by TW, December 31, 2013, 11:04:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

TW

Hello and welcome to my little corner of the Kitchens of Redwall Abbey. I decided to post this here because cooking is as much an art as drawing or painting. Here, I will detail my experiences when cooking with The Redwall Cookbook. I haven't seen any other topics with this idea yet so this should be fun.

I don't want to come across as a cooking expert. Other than this, the only practice I've had is an 8th grade home ec class. I'm not so much a great cook as I am a mad scientist who has just gotten an idea. I am studying chemistry, though, and my professor has said several times that you can't be a good chemist without being a good cook.

My plan is to cook some of the recipes from the cookbook. I'll post a write-up of each recipe as well as notes on how it might be improved and pictures of the process. Hopefully, this will entice others to pick up the book try making (and eating :D)some of the recipes. Because of the limited number of recipes in The Redwall Cookbook, I'll also use recipes from other cookbooks that would fit into the world of Redwall.

I want it to be known that I am not trying to make the physical book obsolete. I want to tell people what the food is like, clarify parts where the book is unclear, and give notes on how to improve the recipes. I'll type the write-ups in Microsoft Word and then copy them into separate posts in this topic. The recipes I've done will be listed below with the dates that they're posted. The first recipes will be Guosim Shrew Shortbread (shortbread is my specialty) and Autumn Oat Favorites. If you have any questions feel free to ask

Recipes

Books

• Jacques, Brian. The Redwall Cookbook. London, England: Philomel Books, 2005. Print.