Conversion Discussion

Started by James Gryphon, September 15, 2020, 03:21:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

James Gryphon

Please ask any questions about the conversion plans, differences between forums, etc. that you have here!
« Subject to editing »

One-Eye the wildcat

Will the next forum-thingy  work on legacy browsers? 90% of my time on the forum is on a kindle paperwhite, so if it won't work on that, I'll be really inactive.
"What will become of us? Where will we go, we who wander this vast wasteland in search of our better selves?"

"Introduce a little anarchy. Upset the established order, and everything becomes chaos. I'm an agent of chaos."
Long live the RRR!!

James Gryphon

Well, it's a safe guess it isn't going to be better for legacy support than the current forum. But at that, it depends on what you think of as legacy. If it's a relatively well known mainstream browser made in the last five years or so, I expect it will probably work okay. I likely won't be able to use it in IE 5 on my Power Mac G4, though.

Update: I'll look into the Paperwhite's specs and see how the lay of that is. And if it doesn't work well now, it's possible we might be able to improve it.
« Subject to editing »

One-Eye the wildcat

I just visited a forum that runs the myBB thing andit worked ok, soooo...
"What will become of us? Where will we go, we who wander this vast wasteland in search of our better selves?"

"Introduce a little anarchy. Upset the established order, and everything becomes chaos. I'm an agent of chaos."
Long live the RRR!!

Verdauga

I assume you and anyone else setting up Ruddaring will be working to move posts over from here. Would you still recommend that we save personal work done here?
Furthermore, If we registered an account on Ruddaring and our original account is brought over, the other account will be deleted and our posts moved, yes?
Killing the mood since 2019