News:

For some, the heat of summer nears its end. . . And for others, the blooms of spring appear.

Main Menu

"The Fates are Cruel" - a short story

Started by Free Thought, February 02, 2013, 07:46:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Free Thought

Hello All!  I'm new to the whole RAF board and all, but wanted to post this quick short story I wrote a little while back.  It's posted on FF, but the Redwall scene there is kinda dead so I wanted to get some more feedback from true... Redwallians (?yes, I just made that word up!).  Anyways, please let me know what you think!

The Fates are Cruel

"Ah, look!" a badger named Rowanoak sighed as she pulled the broken cart of the Rambling Rosehip Players down the dusty northern path.  Pointing a large paw to the south she added, "A building!  Surely we can find supplies there to fix the cart!"
   "Well, let's get going!" an otter named Keyla grunted as he pushed the broken cart forward from behind.  "I'm sick of pushing this thing!"
   "Then let us help!" a voice chuckled from behind them.  The all twenty members of the troupe jumped at the sound and turned to see two strong looking hedgehogs standing on the path with their paws folded across their broad chests.
   "And who might you be?" Keyla said boldly.
   "I'm Ferdy and this is Coggs," the one hedgehog replied. "You off to the Abbey?"
   "Abbey?" Rowanoak asked. "What Abbey?"
   "What Abbey, she says," Coggs jested and poked Ferdy in the ribs. "Why Redwall Abbey of course!"
   "You've only been walking towards it for a blinkin' hour now!" Ferdy laughed and pointed at the building Rowanoak had spotted.
   "We can give you a push there now if you like," Coggs said walking bravely up to the back of the cart and readying himself for a push. "We were just on our way back ourselves."