News:

For some, the heat of summer nears its end. . . And for others, the blooms of spring appear.

Main Menu

Writing In Accents: A Mistake?

Started by WoodenSpoon, February 05, 2013, 01:27:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WoodenSpoon

As a writer, I often wonder how to write certain accent. When I do my research, it seems that the current popular opinion is that one shouldn't write accents, because it might alienate the readers.

Brian Jacques clearly didn't follow this rule. I want to discuss whether or not this was a good idea on his part. I can't imagine the Redwall books without the dialects, and I can understand them quite well. However, when I think back, I didn't understand a word of molespeech when my father was first reading the books to me, and I know some people prefer to skip the molespeech altogether, making Redwall newbie-unfriendly if you will. 

What are your thoughts on this?

Leatho Shellhound

I love the accents, I can understand every word.
    Take a look at our Abbey's Art Gallery

click the banner

Redwallfan7

"There's some good in this world, Mr.Frodo, and it's worth fighting for."-Samwise Gamgee from The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers

Romsca

It took me to the very very end of the first book I read, The Legend of Luke, to even understand Molespeech in the very littlest bit. Writing in accents can be good if it's only slight and you can still understand it, but I think Molespeech might have been a mistake

Mattio

I can understand all of it I figured out molespeech pretty quickly

DanielofRedwall

I think the accents just add the depth and culture of the world Jacques created. I can't imagine Redwall without the accents, and don't really want to. I didn't really find molespeech hard to pick up personally, but for those who do often other characters translate for them, or the reply is enough to figure out what the general idea of the statement or question was, so I don't really think it was a mistake.